//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Crappy Tire, DOMS, and my vices

So I purchased my bike pre-assembled… at least that’s what I thought. On Sunday I took my bike along with my dog down some dirt trails. When I got out in order to ride straight I had to make a hard left on my steering wheel.

After fixing that I went out on the same trail. Only this time the handle bars came loose and I ended up riding in an aggressive stance for the rest of my ride. I had this vision of my bike completely falling apart. My bigger fear was I didn’t bring my phone with me. If I ended up stranded I wouldn’t have been home til well into dark… causing unnecessary worry to my wife.

I did 3 sets of 6 negative chin ups on the 20th. Today is actually the first day where I don’t feel the DOMS. Tonight I’ll be trying for 667. I’m thinking the more I do this the less time it’ll take for recovery… but then again, what do I know?

I’ve been trying to give up junk food. Pop, fried foods, chips, and everything else that helps pack on the lbs. As long as I stay away from salty foods like pizza, and chips I can keep myself away from cracking open a can of pop. When I do drink pop however it’s diet. Which really isn’t saying anything, it’s still pretty bad for you… don’t let the “diet” moniker fool you, studies have shown that diet pop facilitates weight gain.

About squish

My name is Mike. I've been toying with having an athletic body for a few years now. I get close, then I fall flat on my face. In 2010 I ran, and completed a marathon... as a result I have been suffering from Achilles tendinitis ever since. I'm currently undergoing physio and have been feeling a lot better. I have decided that for this year I'll hang up my shoes and dust off my road bike and let my heel... well, heal. My intention for this blog isn't to simply "squish my nuts," but to educate myself, and readers about my experiences on the bike, weight loss, and anything else life decides to throw at me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

