//
you're reading...
My bike(s)

My last bike purchase.

Since I’ll be buying myself a new bike to replace my old CCM “commute, run the dog, q time with the wife” bike I thought I’d write about the last time I purchased a bike.

In 2006 I was on a mission. I was just getting into cycling… riding my now stolen CCM. At the time it was just a “trying to lose weight” bike. One evening I told my roommate that I was going to cycle to the next town over which was approx. 30 kms away. And after supper, that’s what I set out to do.

About an hour into the ride I was getting close to my destination when I hear a voice say “See you at home” and who do I see immediately pass me? My roommate… on his road bike. That was the moment I decided to buy one.

After losing a few bids on used bikes from Ebay, I made a call to the nearest bike shop. It was a 3 hour drive but they told me they had a num

ber of road bikes in stock. That weekend I drove there and found a nice beginner bike

The Trek 1200 is a beginner bike… I was a beginner. It was fairly inexpensive (even though I never in my wildest dreams thought I’d pay $1000 for a bike… at the time.) which was good because my wallet has never been that fat. My gut on the other hand…

The bike does ride a little stiff. I have yet to upgrade anything on it, but have been considering a few options. I never use the granny gear on the FD so maybe replacing it could be an option.

I do use a speedplay pedal and honestly have never tried anything else. I have no issues with them but then again, I have nothing to compare it to.

I plan on putting more miles this year than I have in the past. I’m also determined to teach myself more on bike mechanics. I’ve been dependent on the local shop here in town.

About squish

My name is Mike. I've been toying with having an athletic body for a few years now. I get close, then I fall flat on my face. In 2010 I ran, and completed a marathon... as a result I have been suffering from Achilles tendinitis ever since. I'm currently undergoing physio and have been feeling a lot better. I have decided that for this year I'll hang up my shoes and dust off my road bike and let my heel... well, heal. My intention for this blog isn't to simply "squish my nuts," but to educate myself, and readers about my experiences on the bike, weight loss, and anything else life decides to throw at me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

