//
you're reading...
My bike(s)

STOLEN!

On Saturday morning around 1:30 am I awoke to a noise. My dog heard it too and made sure to wake me with his bravest bark he could muster. I was up in a flash and grabbing a pair of scissors from the kitchen I surveyed the house. Brisco my dog stayed upstairs to protect my wife (too scared to come down with me) as I went downstairs. Everything was fine. I took a look out the back window and noticed within a second my bike was gone.

Crap.

Immediately I went back to the bedroom, put on my pants and went out to survey the yard. My wife’s bike was parked in our courtyard… it hadn’t been touched. I bigger relief. We just bought her bike a few years ago. It’s a nice looking Trek Hybrid. My bike on the otherhand was about 10 years old. It was a CCM Riptide. I’m not entirely sure what year… I’ve been trying to find a picture of it for the last 2 days… nothing.

I digress.

My wife and I quickly jumped in our non two wheeled mode of transportation and drove around town trying to find a cyclist at 2 am. We couldn’t find anyone. So we stopped off at our local police detachment and I picked up the phone outside. I was connected to the main switchboard for the district and I reported the robbery.

The next morning I put out an APB on facebook. No luck.

This evening I got called in to give the details of the theft. The officer told me they went out looking for anyone cycling as soon as they got the report that night. Because the bike is about 10 years old and I’ve since got through about 4 computers I can’t find the serial number anywhere (NOTE TO SELF, use google docs for important stuff!). Because of that fact, even if someone is riding my bike, if they don’t admit they took it… I have no case. EVEN THOUGH I have never seen anyone else in town with the same bike.

I normally lock up my bike, but my lock has been sticking so I had every intention of buying a new one soon. In the meantime I simply hid my bike out of the line of sight of the street. Obviously that wasn’t good enough.

So now I’m in the market for a new bike. A new “townie” bike that possibly could take me through the various trails in the area as well. It’s a major inconvenience for me. Not only was it going to be my main mode of transportation to get to work this summer, but it was also a way to spend quality time with my wife. We were just starting to go out on evening rides… sometimes with our dog Brisco who has boundless amounts of energy. The bike ride was a perfect way to get the exercise he so much needs as well. All that was robbed from us… not just my bike.

I’m not very confident that I’ll get my bike back. I don’t wish any harm on the thief, but you know what they say. What goes around comes around… I really loved that bike.

Mike

P.S.

One more  thing to my bike thief…You ****ing bast**d!

About squish

My name is Mike. I've been toying with having an athletic body for a few years now. I get close, then I fall flat on my face. In 2010 I ran, and completed a marathon... as a result I have been suffering from Achilles tendinitis ever since. I'm currently undergoing physio and have been feeling a lot better. I have decided that for this year I'll hang up my shoes and dust off my road bike and let my heel... well, heal. My intention for this blog isn't to simply "squish my nuts," but to educate myself, and readers about my experiences on the bike, weight loss, and anything else life decides to throw at me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

